top of page

Meet Our New Teacher Julie Carter

Julie Carter Chapel Allerton Pilates Teacher

We caught up with our new Mat Pilates teacher Julie Carter to find out more about her Pilates training and her new Thursday 8:30pm-9:30pm Mat class.

When did you obtain your Pilates qualification?

I am a Polestar Student. I took the course a few year ago but due to ‘life’ getting in the way I haven’t had time to pursue my qualification until now. I will be taking my final mat exam in March.

Who did you train with?

I trained with Polestar at Chapel Allerton Pilates

What do you enjoy most about teaching Pilates?

I enjoy helping people to achieve better more functional movement, that contributes positively to their own wellbeing. Seeing the joy and relaxation clients feel after attending a class is very rewarding.

What can students expect from your classes?

Students can expect a class that will make them feel stretched, relaxed, happy and able to move better.

Julie Carter Pilates Teacher

Julie teaches the Thursday evening Mat class - Mat classes are the foundation of all Pilates work. It progressively builds:

  • Strength

  • Flexibility

  • Mobility

  • Improves posture

"Done on a mat on the floor, the technique and exercises you learn in mat class will address all our needs for relaxation, strengthening, flexibility and toning. Mat class will improve your movement, alignment and posture. The exercises can be practised in the studio, your home, or even on holiday. Mat class is suitable for any age or ability level."

If you could describe your teaching style in two words what would they be?

Informative and relaxed. There is no pressure to perform, just the space to learn and develop.

How often do you get to time to do your own Pilates practice?

At home usually first thing in the morning before being joined by my five year old! I also attend regular Pilates gyms, mat classes and 1:1’s at the Studio sessions.

What is your favourite Pilates class to take yourself why?

To be honest I don’t think I can choose. Gyms are really good as they are totally about you and what you need in your life at that time. Mat classes are great because it takes you back to the basics, but also allows you to challenge yourself if you wish. Reformer is great because the machines give you a lot of feedback and resistance on your movement, if I had the time I would do one of each class every week!

Julie Carter Pilates Teacher

What do you enjoy doing away from the Pilates studio?

I have always been interested in keeping fit and active. As a child I danced until I was 16 and since then I have always tried to keep reasonably fit, partaking in fitness classes and subsequently qualified to teach Fitness to Music (like aerobics/ leg,bums and tums). I also used to run a lot, I have completed a few half marathons and a full marathon -although that was a few years ago now!

Where else do you work other than Chapel Allerton Pilates?

I work for the Council four days per week in HR and also have a five year old little girl who is just going into her second year of school, therefore she takes up a lot of my time now (as well as Pilates), especially as my husband works shifts. As a family we enjoy days out, camping trips & visiting grandma.

Tell us a fun fact about you!

I used to be a Chef in my past life, so I think it’s true that you have at least three career changes in your life!

To attend Julie Thursday 8:30-9:30pm Mat class please book via the Mind Body Online app or log into your account via your computer laptop using this link.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Company Registered as Chapel Allerton Pilates Ltd. Registration number: 09932277
Registered address: 90 Harrogate Road, Chapel Allerton, Leeds, LS7 4LZ United Kingdom  

Site created by Pollinate Create

bottom of page